Week 8, Stories That Pirates Love to Read and Teach

4 thoughts on “Week 8, Stories That Pirates Love to Read and Teach”

  1. Last semester, one of my reading assignments was “Maus”, a graphic novel about the Holocaust. I was a little apprehensive because the Holocaust is SUCH a serious topic, and at the time, to me “graphic novel” was a fancy way to say comic book! But it was such a wonderful and engaging book that I read it through in one sitting. While the Holocaust is certainly not a “fun” topic, I think the format of the book made it much easier to read.

    And I think that you are spot on with your statement about having fun in the classroom. I know I was able to learn and retain much more when there was an activity of some sort in conjunction with a lesson than I was when there was only a lecture. I also notice with my son that when the teacher has some sort of fun activity or project that accompanies the unit they are studying, he “gets it” so much quicker and is also able to retain it. There is no rule that school must be boring, and if fun works, why not incorporate it into the classroom?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I suppose it is necessary to have a text book, but why can’t there also be a theme to the class. Like Basic Writing Mystery. Or Basic Writing Super Heroes. Then you can assign some reading that might be considered by some to be fluffy, but if you have engaged your student with reading something that they enjoy and you can tie it in to a class theme, why not? And that is a serious question…I mean it. Is there a reason why this wouldn’t work? Have any of you tried assigning popular culture reading? There are some good graphic novels out there. Has anyone considered assigning reading in a graphic novel? I think even Stephanie Meyer put out a graphic novel from her Twilight series.”

    I wouldn’t say it’s necessary to have a textbook in the general sense, but it is necessary to ground what you do in the classroom with sound pedagogy. Part of the reason these texts are discouraged in some writing classes is that it is not a literature class. While pieces can be brought in to demonstrate/model something important about writing, the focus isn’t on the content like that. For example, we theme our ENGL 1020 classes at AUM, but we moved to readers to help ground the theme with writing. The theme is a way to guide discussion and topic generation but it isn’t a class about monsters or comedy, etc. The same would be true for a BW class. You can lightly theme a BW class as long as the emphasis is still on writing. Otherwise most comp directors and departments are going to say keep literature in a literature class.

    How would you use a graphic novel in a BW class? What would the purpose be?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What I’m thinking (and what I’m reading on FB and other blogs) is that if reading and writing are two sides of the same coin, and that writing is better when writers are readers, and basic writers frequently don’t like reading and read only when they have to, then is it a good idea to assign reading that a basic writer might enjoy if it suits a theme of the class? Graphic novels came to mind because they are multi-modal and have characteristics that might be more engaging to readers who don’t like to read. I know a common perception of graphic novels is that they are like comic books or lack in content in some way, but I disagree. They have illustrations, sure, but the content is often very mature. (Not that comic books aren’t mature; they are or can be, but they are split into so many volumes) So if you have a theme, and you use classroom time to discuss the reader, which guides the course, but you also assign reading that can be enjoyable, and discuss that as well in developing a theme, or even encourage reading. I don’t know. I really see your point about turning composition into a lit class if you assign a novel as a text book, but if you’re not teaching literary theory and using composition theory to teach writing…Crap. I’m really rambling here. Let me think this out:
      1. On our blogs and FB we seem to agree that a solution to helping basic writers write has to involve reading.
      2. Reading is better when it engages the attention of the reader.
      3. From what I read on ILA, students learn more when they enjoy their classroom experience.
      So, can we assign “fun” reading that we can then use in our class to discuss pathos, ethos, logos and construct writing assignments around them? Can we design a rhetorical situation that uses the “fun” text? Maybe not.
      I guess I just wanted to try to think of a way to encourage students to read to help their writing. If it isn’t supported by pedagogy theory and practice, then it’s just an idea with good intentions but no practical application. To really discover this answer, I would have to read theory that might not be assigned in this class and work on this idea later, which is kind of a bummer.

      Like

      1. I get your point, and I think it might work to use a graphic novel in a BW class as long as it’s well situated in the course as a model or means of discussion. I’m not suggesting it wouldn’t ever work. When you want to do something fun, which I try to do all the time, it just takes extra planning and careful selection…and usually approval by your boss 🙂

        Our BW students write zines. What if they make graphic novels instead? That way a graphic novel as a central text makes sense. But, at AUM, to use a graphic novel and do that kind of assignment sequence, the comp director definitely needs to sign off on it. But asking is the easy part.

        Like

Leave a comment